Nuit Blanche Ottawa+Gatineau is a 1 night per year, dusk-until-dawn celebration of multidisciplinary Art and local culture that takes place across multiple venues and within the cityscape of Ottawa and Gatineau. Nuit Blanche showcases the creativity and cohesion of the local community and the success of its industries. Approximately 160 artists took part in the inaugural event, and it was attended by approximately 30 000 smiling people on September 22nd, 2012, between 6pm and 4am.

It is a platform for recognizing the region within the national and international arts and festival scene, and it fosters the region as a cultural destination while generating revenue for local businesses.

‘La vie est belle’ was the theme of the first Nuit Blance held in Ottawa, on 22/09/2012 between 6:22pm and 4:23am.

SUPERNOVA!, the 2nd edition of Nuit Blanche Ottawa+Gatineau, took place on Saturday September 21st 2013 from 6.21pm to 4.22am.

The 2014 theme was BYPASS. It took place on Saturday September 20th 2014 from 6.20pm to 4.21am.

The 2015 event is called HYPE-FRÉNÉSIE‬! It is on September 19th, 2015 from 7pm to 4am.

The inaugural event, in 2012, was part of a quartet of Nuit Blanche events that took place across Ontario, organised by Bravo (Bureau de Regroupement Arts Visuels de lʼOntario) with the financial support from the Ontario Trillium Foundation.

In March 2013 Nuit Blanche Ottawa+Gatineau became an independent Not-for-Profit Foundation under the Canadian Incorporation Act. The first board of directors meeting was held on April 10th at the Council for the Arts in Ottawa.


Nuit Blanche Ottawa+Gatineau aims:

• To promote, support and run inclusive, community driven events.

• To demonstrate innovation and deliver a rich and stimulating experience for all parties involved.

• To foster economic development for industry and culture within Ottawa.

• To increase visibility of local, national and international contemporary culture within the region of Ottawa.

• To provide a bilingual project.


Current Board Members

Chair – Ariane Nazroo

Director – Remco Volmer

Treasurer – Jean David LeBlanc

Founding Board Members

//Managing Director – Ariane Nazroo

Creative Director – Dr. Megan Smith

Director – Diane Bond

Director – Lorenz von Fersen

Director – Sonia Lismer



Creative Director – Dr. Megan Smith

Production Manager – Robert VanderBerg

Coordinator – Cassandra Olsthoorn (AOE)

Marketing & Media – Manon Labrosse

Translation – Emmanuelle Levac-Baquero

Translation – Catherine-Eve Bellemare